One month to go!! Australian Team for the XI FIP World Polo Championship announced

Jack Archibald

Jack Archibald will captain the Australian team at the prestigious XI FIP World Polo Championship to be held at Sydney Polo Club, Richmond from October 21 to 29.
The six-time capped national player will be joined by Alex Barnet, Jake Daniels, Lachlan Gilmore, George Hill, Jack Kiely, James Lester, Daniel O’Leary and Alec White.

A humble Archibald, 28, is excited to lead the Australian team for the first time and plans on leaving “nothing in the tank”.
“Representing your country at any level is a great privilege but to be a part of the World Cup team and having the opportunity to compete in front of a home crowd makes it even more special and a once in a lifetime opportunity,” he said.
Alec White added he was looking forward to a very competitive tournament. “We have a mix of experienced and some fantastic up-and- coming players so will work hard to play a smart team game,” he said. “Hopefully we can use playing on home soil in front of family, friends and a supportive Aussie crowd to our advantage and do everyone proud.”
The eight international teams have been divided into two pools and will play a round-robin competition of 12 games before the two highest placed teams in each pool compete in the finals.

POOL A – Argentina, Australia, Spain and USA

POOL B – Chile, England, India and New Zealand

Tomas Maria Panelo, Federico Rooney, Hector Guerrero, Ignacio Javier Bello, Lucio Fernandez Ocampo, Valentin Novillo Astrada, Ivan Maldonado and Diego Braun
Jose Zegers, Martin Arrau, Andres Vial Perez, Jose Miguel Pereira Riesco, Maria Silva Castelblanco, Ignancio Vial Mazieres, Antonio Eguiguren and Jose Thomas von Unger Orchard
Adolfo Casabal, Edward Banner-Eve, Henry Porter, Josh Cork, Peter Webb and Satnam Singh Dhillon
Angad Kalaan, HH Sawai Padmanabh Singh, Col Ravi Rathore, Dhruv Pal Godara, Pranav Kapur, Siddhant Sharma and Uday Kalaan
Cody Forsyth, Glen Sherriff, Guy Higginson, brothers Henry and Jonny Jones, Kit Brooks, Mark Duncan, Richard Hunt, Adam Haworth, Nick Keyte and Sam Martin

Antonio Ayesa Guix, Benjamin Araya, Jaime Serra Diez, José Marío Trénor Lowestein, Luis Benjumea Llorente, Mario Gomez and Pelayo Berazadi Rózpide
Bob Puetz, CB Scherer, Daniel Galindo, Felipe Viana, Jesse Bray, Jimmy Wright and Matias Gonzalez




10:30am Argentina vs USA (Supremo Field)

1:00pm Opening Ceremony

2:30pm Australia vs Spain (International Field)



11:00am England vs India (Supremo Field)

2:30pm Chile vs NZ (International Field)


TUESDAY 24 Oct Pool A Games

11:00am Game 5 (Supremo Field)

2:30pm Game 6 (International Field)

WEDNESDAY 25 Oct Pool B Games

11:00am Game 7 (Supremo Field)

2:30pm Game 8 (International Field)


SATURDAY 28 Oct All Teams

10:00am Game 9 (Supremo Field)

12:00pm Game 10 (Supremo Field)

2:30pm Game 11 (International Field)

4:30pm Game 12 (International Field)



11:00am FINAL for 3rd & 4th (International Field)

2:30pm FINAL for 1st & 2nd (International Field)

Related Post


Leave a Comment