Tonkawa pounds Travieso, 14-5, in Ylvisaker Cup play

By Alex Webbe

Tonkawa (Jeff Hildebrand, Sapo Caset, Costi Caset and Facundo Obregon) looked like a giant killer in January’s Joe Barry Memorial Cup last, going undefeated in its opening three games before coming up flat against La Indiana (Michael Bickford, Gringo Colombres, Jeff Hall and Mike Azzaro) in the semifinals and losing 10-6, but it appears that they are back.

Charging out to a commanding 8-1 halftime lead, Jeff Hildebrand’s Tonkawa lineup appeared to score at will in Tuesday’s Ylvisaker Cup game.

Scoring the first four goals of the game and running up a 4-0 lead after the first two chukkers, Travieso (Tony Calle, Hugo Barabucci, Sebastian Merlos and Marquitos Alberdi) struggled to stay in the game. Marquitos Alberdi finally got Travieso on the scoreboard with a goal from the field in the third to trail, 4-1. Four consecutive goals from Tonkawa (two from Sapo Caset and single goals from Facundo Obregon and Costi Caset) closed out the first half with Tonkawa enjoying a seven-goal advantage over Travieso, 8-1.

Travieso actually out-scored Tonkawa in the fourth period with Sebastian Merlos converting a short penalty shot and Alberdi adding his second goal from the field. Tonkawa was held to a single goal from Sapo Caset, but continued to lead, 9-3.

Fifth period goals from Sapo Caset, Obregon and Costi Caset were answered by a penalty goal from Alberdi. Tonkawa extended their lead to eight goals, 12-4.

Costi Caset added two more goals in the sixth that had Travieso in a ten-goal deficit, 14-4. A final 60-yard penalty goal from Merlos did little to take the sting out of Travieso’s opening 14-5 loss.

Sapo Caset led all scoring with six goals. Costi Caset scored five times; Obregon was credited with two goals and Hildebrand added a goal for the win. Alberdi was credited with three goals with Merlos converting two penalty shots for scores in a losing effort.

The second round of play in the 2017 Ylvisaker Cup gets underway on Wednesday, February 1st with three games. At 10am, Goose Creek (Maureen Brennan, Peke Gonzalez, Mariano Gonzalez and Tomas Garcia del Rio) will face Grand Champions Polo Club (Grant Ganzi, Inaki Laprida, Nic Roldan and Juancito Bollini) with both teams looking for their first win of the tournament.

Valiente II (Robert Jornayvaz, Matias Torres Zavaleta, Diego Cavanagh and Joaquin Panelo) will attempt to improve their record to 2-0 when they play winless Mt. Brilliant (Bo Goodman, Jason Crowder, Santiago Chavanne and Julian Daniels) in a 12:30pm contest followed by a showdown between Orchard Hill (Steve Van Andel, Lucas Criado, Facundo Pieres and Nico Escobar) and Valiente (Bob Jornayvaz, Felipe Viana, Adolfo Cambiaso and Toro Ruiz). Valiente and Orchard Hill were finalists in last year’s Ylvisaker Cup but were never able to face one another in a final match. Both Valiente I and Orchard Hill are 1-0 going into Wednesday’s game.

Photos: Alex Pacheco

Related Post


Leave a Comment