PlayOffs for the FIP XI World Championships

FIP World Championship

The dates for the XI FIP World Championships have now been approved as 17th through to 29th of October 2017 and the FIP Office in BA are working closely with the APF, Sydney Polo Club, Destinations NSW and the New South Wales Government to make the 2017 event an occasion to be remembered for all the right reasons, so start making your travel arrangements!

Update on Zone PlayOffs for the FIP XI World Championships:

Zone A – Bruce Colley, Steve Orthwein’s Deputy Director for Zone A has done a great job of securing the play-offs at Casa de Campo hopefully in late April 2017. Currently confirmed for the Zone are USA, Canada, Mexico and Dominican Republic and we are just waiting to hear confirmation from Guatemala.

Zone B – FIP World Championship playoffs for Zone B have now been confirmed by the President of the Uruguayan Polo Association German Pena to be played in Punta del Este in Late January early February 2017 a couple of weeks after the Uruguayan Open. With teams participating from Argentina, Brazil, Peru & Uruguay

Zone C – Thanks to Piero Dillier the Zone Director, the Polo Club du Domaine de Chantilly will be hosting the Zone C playoffs with participating teams from France, Spain, Italy, Ireland, Germany and United Kingdom, probably Germany and possibly the Netherlands – Two teams to qualify from this Zone for the World Championships.

Zone D – The Thai Polo & Equestrian Club in Pattaya, Thailand have agreed to host the Zone D playoffs with teams from Malaysia, Thailand, New Zealand and with the possible inclusion of Singapore if they manage to incorporate their new Singapore Polo Association in time.

Zone E – FIP received an expression of interest from the Lahore Polo Club in Pakistan and there is also the possibility of running the playoffs in China at the Metropolitan Polo Club courtesy of FIP Vice President, Mr. Pan Sutton but there may be other bids to come in from the one of the other playing nations. Potential participants are South Africa, Pakistan, India, Nigeria and Zimbabwe.

The FIP XI World Polo Championships will have eight participants , with Australia ( host country ) and Chile ( current champion ) already qualified .

Related Post


Leave a Comment